Week 2 – Backgrounds

Bakgrunder 2.png

A couple of weeks ago I was asked to make background concepts for our Selfish game. Since it is a game about a fish in an aquarium I first drew some quick suggestions on how the aquarium could look. Above you can see some of my concepts I made in Photoshop and PaintTool SAI. The pictures on the left are the same picture except the one above has a green filter over it. I thought it would look more like you are underwater if that was implemented. However, we opted not to use that. The one on the top right was a bit too clustered to work, it would make it hard to follow the gameplay with so much going on behind you.Bakgrunder.png

We decided that it would be easier just to make a background in Photoshop and then add artifacts of different kinds, to make it look like an aquarium, in Unity. That way we could easily redesign the scene if we wanted to. I’ll write about the artifacts I made in a different blog post. The backgrounds I made are seen above. The two top ones are the same picture with different coloring. All of these are made in Photoshop except the one on the bottom left, which was made in SAI, but I was not pleased with that one so I switched medium. I was told to make the bottom darker and the top brighter to give the impression that the aquarium is deep. In my opinion, they look more like drawings of the ocean than an aquarium but my group was happy with the first one on the top left so that is what we’re using currently in-game.

Bakgrunder 3.png

I also had the task to put together the background in Unity, above you can see some suggestions that I made. I also created some foregrounds that are not in the pictures right now. I am not good with Unity yet so we opted to use a different background than the ones I made. In the future, I plan to remove the line art from the rocks as I think they stand out a bit too much.

 

Leave a comment